The 32nd Edwin M. Stanley Moot Court Competition

The final arguments for the Edwin M. Stanley Moot Court Competition will be held on Friday, November 21, 2003 in the large courtroom.  The panel of judges for this competition  will be Associate Justice Donald W. Lemons of the Supreme Court of Virginia, Justice Ruth V. McGregor of the Supreme Court of Arizona, and Circuit Judge Karen Johnson Williams of the U. S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.  The competition will begin at 3:00 p.m. and a reception will follow.

Each year the Wake Forest University School of Law Moot Court Board conducts this intramural moot court competition in honor of the late Judge Edwin M. Stanley.  He was a distinguished Wake Forest alumnus and supporter, who served as a U. S. District Court Judge for the Middle District of North Carolina from 1958 to 1968.      

The James C. Berkowitz Award for Best Oralist is presented each year at this competition in memory of Jim Berkowitz, a Wake Forest law student who died in a tragic automobile accident.  The accident occurred when Jim was returning to the law school to argue in the quarterfinals of the 1984 Stanley Competition.  In 1986 Jim’s parents established an endowed award for best oralist.