Luke Macdowall (’11) champion in 2011 Zeliff Competition Finals

Luke Macdowall (’11) is the winner of the 2011 Zeliff Competition Finals, sponsored by the Wake Forest Student Trial Bar.

The final argument, Smith v. Simpson, was held at 4:30 p.m.on Friday, March 18, in the Worrell Professional Center between Macdowall, who was counsel for the plaintiff, and Perrin Fourmy (’13), counsel for the defense.

“After a hard-fought battle in front of the Honorable Denise Hartsfield (’91), Luke edged out competitor Perrin Fourmy in a truly excellent round,” said Brittany Sajbel (’12) on behalf of the Zeliff co-chairs Matthew McClellan and Kathleen Hicks.  “Congratulations again to all of the competitors, and thank you all again for your support!”

Final four participants included Sam Slater (’11) and Natalie Vermitsky (’12). Elite Eights participants included Kevin Harrison, Cisco Morales, David Senter and Matthew Toal. Honorable mentions went to Edward Johnson and Kristina Wolf.

“Congratulations to Luke and thanks to all for a remarkable competition,” Dean Blake D. Morant said.