Wake Forest teams compete in inaugural Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition

On April 1-2, two teams from the Wake Forest University School of Law competed in the Inaugural Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition.  Named for the three immediate past Chief Justices of North Carolina, including Wake Forest’s own Rhoda Billings, the Competition was held at Elon Law School in Greensboro.

The team of Hannah Davis, Wade Sample, and Austin Walsh won the award for the Second Best Brief, a great accomplishment, especially considering that there were 31 teams from 17 different law schools in the competition, said Professor John Korzen.  The Davis-Sample-Walsh team finished with 2 wins and 2 losses, after four matches.

The team of Tom Filopoulos, Naomi Huntington, and Caroline Lawler also finished with 2 wins and 2 losses, including one by only four-hundredths (0.04) of a point.  In the four rounds, Caroline Lawler received oral argument scores of 95+, 95+, and 92+, and she would have likely earned a best oral advocate prize if not for an inexplicably much lower score in the other round.

“Thanks go to all the professors and alumni who helped the team prepare for the competition, including Professors Castleman, Curry, Curtis, Felsenburg, Green, Hall, Palmiter, Schneider, and Walker; and Moot Court alumni Jamie Dean (’09), Nicole DuPre (’10), Deb Halvorsen (’98), and Daniel Vandergriff (’10),” Korzen said.  “Thanks also go to the teams’ co-coach, Professor Laura Graham.”

The Billings, Exum & Frye competition caps off a very successful 2010-2011 external Moot Court season for Wake Forest, which included a tournament victory and several prizes for team briefs and individual oral advocacy, Korzen added.

“The success reflects well on the Moot Court Board as a whole and the entire law school community,” he said.  “As a current Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court commented after the award ceremony, it is no surprise that Wake Forest earned a best brief award in view of all the outstanding lawyers the law school has produced.”