American Association for Justice Trial teams perform well at regionals

After four rounds of competition, a Wake Forest law school trial team achieved a 3-0 record in preliminary rounds of competition before losing a tightly-contested split 2-1 decision in the semi-final round of the American Association for Justice Student Trial Advocacy Competition Atlanta regional, held March 1-4.

Two teams of Wake Forest law students competed in the preliminary rounds of the tournaments. The team of Ed Johnson (’12), Caroline Lawler (’12), Kathleen Hicks (‘12) and Natalie Vermitsky (‘12) won two of their first three rounds. The team defeated opponents from the University of Georgia and North Carolina Central University, but unfortunately lost by only a two-point margin to a team from Campbell University.

The second lineup of Katie King (‘12), Penn Broyhill (‘13), Brodie Erwin (‘12) and Craig Principe (‘12) likewise defeated the UGA team, and took down Campbell as well en route to an undefeated record in the preliminary rounds.  This group entered the semi-final round of competition ranked first overall in the competition.

AAJ Trial Team coach Kim Stevens (’92) had high praise for the team.

“This team gave the most flawless competition round that co-AAJ Trial Team Coach Matt Breeding and I have seen,” Stevens said. “They truly competed their very best that morning, and every competitor had some of their finest moments in that competition round. Craig’s opening statement was as close to perfect as any opening could be delivered; Brodie’s closing was heart stopping. The directs and crosses were text-book perfect.”

The regional competition hosted 16 teams from throughout the Southeastern United States.

“Though the judges in the semi-final round split 2 -1, Matt and I felt like two proud parents having watched our students in their finest moments,” Stevens added.  “We all came home with our heads held high. This year’s AAJ Team represented Wake Forest with pride, and demonstrated the excellence expected of a Wake Forest Trial Team. We thank everyone for their support and hope you will join us in congratulating these fine student competitors.”