Nine WFU alumnae earn Women of Justice Awards including ‘Woman of the Year’

Group photo of alumni earning Women of Justice Awards

Women of Justice Awards

RALEIGH, N.C. — Professor Beth Hopkins (’73) and Kristina Wolf (JD ’13) were among nine Wake Forest women recognized at the 2012 Women of Justice Awards reception at the Raleigh Marriott City Center on Nov. 15, 2012.

North Carolina Lawyers Weekly hosted the reception that recognized women across the state who have demonstrated leadership, integrity, service, sacrifice, and accomplishment in improving the quality of justice and exemplifying the highest ideals of the legal profession.

Lisa Bell (’88) received the Women of the Year Award at the inaugural event. Bell is the Chief District Court Judge for Mecklenburg County, where she focuses more on treatment than punishment.

Professor Hopkins, director of Outreach for the School of Law, received the Legal Scholar Award, while Wolf, president of the Pro Bono Project Student Executive Board, received the Leaders of Tomorrow Award.

Patricia Holland (JD ’79), who is a litigator and employment law attorney in Cary with Jackson Lewis, received the Citizenship Award and Jill Wilson (JD ’82), received the Business Practitioner Award. Wilson, who lives in Greensboro and is with Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey and Leonard, serves as general counsel to three boards of education.

Patricia Shields (’82), is with Troutman Sanders in Raleigh and just completed a term as president of N.C. Association of Defense Attorneys. She received the Litigation Practitioner Award.

Elizabeth Trosch (JD ’02), who is a District Court Judge in Mecklenburg County, received the Judicial District Award, while her classmate, Kathleen Quinn DuBois (JD ’02), who is with Crumley Roberts in Winston-Salem, received a Rising Star Award. Another Rising Star Award recipient was Rebecca Lindahl (JD ’06), who is with Katten, Muchin, Rosenman in Charlotte.

The awards reached out to women in various segments of the legal community, including the bar, the bench, public office, business, academia, non-profits, and the state-at-large.