Pat Naples (’14) wins 41st annual Edwin M. Stanley Moot Court Competition

Photo of Austen Irrobali ('14) and Pat Naples ('14), 2012 Stanley Moot Court Competition Finalists

Austen Irrobali ('14) and Pat Naples ('14), 2012 Stanley Moot Court Competition Finalists

Pat Naples (’14) is the winner of the final round of the 41st annual Stanley Moot Court Competition sponsored by the Wake Forest University School of Law Moot Court Board.

Austen Irrobali (’14) represented the appellant Joseph and Amy Bell, versus Naples, who represented the appellee, Atlantic Coast Electronic.

This year’s panel judges were the Honorable Jeffrey S. Sutton, judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit; the Honorable Rhoda R. Billings (’66), Professor Emeritus, Wake Forest University School of Law and former chief justice, North Carolina Supreme Court; and Adam H. Charnes, partner, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton, LLP.

”We really appreciated your arguments,” Billings said following the oral arguments held on Friday, Nov. 16, in the Worrell Professional Center. “It was a very difficult decision to make because you are both winners. You didn’t show that you hadn’t thought about these questions before.”

In an unprecedented move, Judge Sutton gave the finalists the phone number of Ken Loomis who works in the Sixth Circuit Clerk’s Office and told them that after they passed the bar exam, they needed to call Loomis and tell him that Judge Sutton said recommended both of them to argue a case in front of the appellate court. “I was really impressed,” he added.

Charnes added that the finalists did a great job responding to the judges’ questions. “They seem to be difficult questions and you did a great job not indicating you were flustered,” he said.

The competition chairpersons were Sara Player (’13) and Shannon Weist (’13).

Justin Jenkins (’14) was named best oralist and the winner of the James C. Berkowitz Award, which was presented by his sister, Ella Berkowitz and his niece. James died in a car accident when he was returning to the law school to argue in the quarterfinals of the 1984 Stanley Competition. Irrobali was runner-up for best oralist.

Rebeca Echevarria (’14) received the award for best brief. Runner-up for best brief was Pat Wallace (’14).

The intramural moot court competition is named in honor of the late Judge Edwin M. Stanley, a distinguished Wake Forest alumnus and supporter, who served as a U.S. District Court Judge for the Middle District of North Carolina from 1958-1968. This year 47 students competed in the competition, according to organizers.