Site Navigation Page Content

Karon Fowler (’15) wins 42nd annual Edwin M. Stanley Moot Court Competition

Aimee Durant ('15) and Karon Fowler ('15)

Aimee Durant ('15) and Karon Fowler ('15)

Karon Fowler (’15) is the winner of the final round of the 42nd annual Stanley Moot Court Competition sponsored by the Wake Forest University School of Law Moot Court Board.

The finalists in the Stanley Moot Court competition were Fowler and Aimee Durant (’15). Fowler represented the appellant, Nicole Swisher, vs. Durant, who represented the Appellee Bronx Bombers.

The 2013 final involved one issue of state tort law and one issue of federal civil procedure.  Plaintiff Nicole Swisher was injured by a foul ball at a minor league baseball stadium in Maryland that was owned by Defendant Bronx Bombers, LLC, The Worrell Warriors (a minor league team) and designed by Jeter & Rivera, LLC (an architectural firm).  The plaintiff was in a children’s play area located in a ballpark concourse, watching her 4-year-old twins, when she was hit by the foul ball.

This year’s panel judges were the Honorable Stephanie Thacker,  Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Fourth Circuit; the Honorable Frank Whitney, Chief District Judge, U.S. District Court for the Western District of North Carolina; and Michael D. Green, Professor, Wake Forest University School of Law.

“It was a fabulous competition, you were both very impressive,” Thacker said following the oral arguments held on Friday, Nov. 22, in the Worrell Professional Center. “I know that this is not something I could have done when I was in law school, so congratulations for participating in this competition. You both had such confidence. Some of the best oral advocates I’ve ever seen came from Wake Forest law school, and you were great examples for the school.”

Whitney added that the finalists did a great job of constructing their oral arguments. “The art of oral argument is not something that we see as much anymore, but the two of you did as well as any attorneys that have appeared before me, and you were so well prepared,” he said.

Professor Green added that it was an interesting case.

The competition chairpersons were Rebeca Echevarria (’14) and A’tolani Akinkuotu (’14).

Douglas Walters (’15) was named best oralist and the winner of the James C. Berkowitz Award, which was presented by the Berkowitz family. James died in a car accident when he was returning to the law school to argue in the quarterfinals of the 1984 Stanley Competition. Kelsey Meuret (’15) was runner-up for best oralist.

Stephen Frost (’15) received the award for best brief. Runner-up for best brief was Evan Leadem (‘15).

Dean Blake D. Morant commented on the competition after thanking the judges and the Moot Court Board. “These oral advocates have done a splendid job of showing the success of our oral advocates here at Wake Forest Law,” he said.

The intramural moot court competition is named in honor of the late Judge Edwin M. Stanley, a distinguished Wake Forest alumnus and supporter, who served as a U.S. District Court Judge for the Middle District of North Carolina from 1958-1968. This year 51 students competed in the competition, according to organizers.