WFU alumni to be recognized at North Carolina Bar Association’s annual meeting June 19-22

Several Wake Forest University alumni will receive awards at the North Carolina Bar Association’s 116th annual meeting June 19-22, 2014, at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in Wilmington.

Catherine Biggs Arrowood (B.A. ’73, J.D. ’76) will be sworn in as president of the NCBA on Saturday night, according to a NCBA press release. Arrowood practices law in Raleigh.

Catharine Arrowood ('73, '76)

Catharine Arrowood (’73, ’76)

Lou Bissette (B.A. ’65) will receive the Lake Public Service Award, an honor sponsored by the NCBA. This award is given in honor of I. Beverly Lake Sr., a former professor at Wake Forest. His son, I. Beverly Lake Jr., went to Wake Forest, receiving his B.A. in 1955 and his J.D. in 1960.

Don Cowan (B.A. ‘65, J.D. ’68) will be given the Parker Award, which is given is honor of Judge John J. Parker.  The award was established in 1959 by the NCBA as “the highest honor of this association bestowed in recognition of conspicuous service to the cause of jurisprudence in North Carolina.” Underscoring the significance of the award is the fact that recipients are chosen as merited, not annually.

Cowan served as president of the NCBA in 1992-93 and chaired the Litigation Section in 1985-86. Cowan previously received the NCBA’s CLE Volunteer of the Year Award and the Litigation Section’s Advocate’s Award.

This year’s meeting will be attended by more than 1,000 participants of the NCBA. Ceremonies beginning Thursday, June 19, and include a reception honoring members of the judiciary. Wake Forest Law will host an alumni reception on Friday beginning at 5 p.m. at the Hilton.

The first General Session will be held on Friday, during which candidates from the N.C. Supreme Court and the N.C. Court of Appeals will appear. The second General Session will be held on Saturday, June 21.

Learn more here.