Newest members of Pro Bono Honor Society inducted on Wednesday, April 15

Eighteen new members will be inducted into the Pro Bono Honor Society at a dinner with Interim Dean Suzanne Reynolds (’77) on Wednesday, April 15, in Reynolda Hall. Each student has logged 50 hours of pro bono work in a single school year or 75 hours over multiple school years.

The following students have chosen to use their legal skills to improve the lives of individuals in the community who desperately need help. “They truly embody the Pro Humanitate spirit of Wake Forest,” according to Carson Smith (’16), executive director of the Pro Bono Project.

Jacob Boomsaad
Jenna Coogle
Stephen Frost
Rebecca Hendrix
Stephanie Jackson
Carol Johnson
Kelsey Kolb
Erin McKee
Heidi Muller
Hannah Nicholes
Maria Nkonge
Rosa Ryan
Jessica Strokus
Sarah Summit
Ashley Waring
Madelyn Weeks
Jeff Willison
Ben Winikoff
Denton Worrell

While Wake Forest Law students have been engaged in pro bono work for many years, a formal Pro Bono Project was started during the 2009-2010 school year. There are five core goals of the program: (1) offer student assistance attorneys who provide high quality, low-cost legal services to individuals in need, (2) expand the number of pro bono projects in our community, (3) enhance legal education by offering students with pre-clinical opportunities to develop practical legal skills, (4) encourage greater participation in pro bono work among the local bar, and (5) to create a life long commitment to pro bono work among law school students and alumni.