Professor John Korzen (’91) receives North Carolina Bar Service Award

Photo of Professor John Korzen

John Korzen, who heads the Appellate Advocacy Clinic and teaches Legal Writing and Business Drafting, is an experienced appellate lawyer.

Professor John Korzen (’91) was presented with the Howard L. Gum Service Award by the North Carolina State Bar Board of Legal Specialization at the annual specialists luncheon on Friday, May 8, in Charlotte. The Howard L. Gum Service Award is given annually to a specialty committee member who consistently excels in completing committee tasks, is highly dedicated to legal specialization, donates his or her time to committee responsibilities, and responds to the needs of the staff and the Board, in exemplary fashion, according to the Board of Legal Specialization’s website.

The North Carolina State Bar Board of Legal Specialization certifies specialists in 14 different areas of practice. Specialists must meet certain eligibility criteria and pass an exam. Professor Korzen was certified as a specialist in appellate practice in 2011, the first year that appellate practice was recognized as a specialization in North Carolina.  Professor Korzen is one of 29 certified specialists in appellate practice in North Carolina, and he is on the committee that assesses new applicants for the appellate practice specialist certification.

Professor Korzen is the Director of the Appellate Advocacy Clinic and an Associate Professor of Legal Writing.  He is admitted to practice in the Supreme Court of the United States; federal courts of appeal for the Fourth Circuit, Seventh  Circuit, and Eleventh Circuit; the United States District Court for the Middle District of North Carolina; and all North Carolina state courts.  Before joining the faculty in 2003, John practiced law with Anderson, Korzen & Associates, in Kernersville, N.C., and with Smith Helms Mulliss & Moore (now Smith Moore) in Greensboro, N.C., for 11 years. He also served as a law clerk for the late Sam J. Ervin, III, then Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.