Members of The Rose Council focus on engaging young alumni

Members of The Rose Council, Wake Forest Law’s young alumni organization, have been busy working to engage other young alumni over the past year. 

“We focus on engaging young alumni through networking events, encouraging giving throughout an alum’s career and assisting students and young alumni with career and professional development,” 2015 Chair Rich McPherson (JD ’10) says.

In October 2014, The Rose Council and members of the class of 1964 helped create the first-ever Law Alumni Weekend, a tradition that will continue on October 22-24, 2015.  In addition to other events, Law Alumni Weekend will once again feature the Worrell Toast on Friday evening and the now-famous Rose Council tailgate before the Wake Forest vs. N.C. State football game on Saturday. The tailgate will once again wrap up the weekend’s festivities.  In 2016, The Rose Council plans to build on the success of Law Alumni Weekend and increase the number of regional events hosted by Council members.

Another focus of The Rose Council in 2015 included working with the law school’s Office of Career and Professional Development.  “By collaborating with alumni leaders, we can tap into their influence and experiences and empower our students to succeed,” says Francie Scott (JD ‘04), associate director of Career and Professional Development.

Rose Council members met with numerous students to help them make the transition from law student to practice-ready lawyer.

“We want to make sure our graduates get the jobs for which they are so well qualified.  Our excellent network of alumni leaders gives our graduates the best possible resource for tapping into a vibrant legal market,” says Dean Suzanne Reynolds (JD ‘77).

The Rose Council and law school leadership have also worked together to exchange ideas on how best to position the law school to compete in the ever-changing legal marketplace.

Rose Council Executive Committee Member Art Bookout (JD ‘09) says, “I get to experience first hand how invested school leadership is in ensuring that Wake Forest continues its tradition of providing a quality education and outstanding service to the community.”  Chris Jackson, (JD ‘11), another Rose Council Executive Committee Member, feels more connected to Wake Forest Law through his involvement with the group.  “The Rose Council has reinforced what I already believed about Wake Forest Law:  My classmates were some of the most intelligent, driven and ethical people I had ever been around and my time on the Rose Council has shown me that these traits are shared across the school’s whole alumni base.”

Both the law school and The Rose Council invite anyone interested in learning more to come out to Law Alumni Weekend or contact Joy Scheidt, assistant director of Development, at

Current Rose Council members:

Nicholas “Nick“ Ahrens (JD ‘10)

Jonathan “Jon“ Anderson (JD ‘08)

Shauna (Moser) Barnes (JD ‘10)

Brandon Barnes (JD ‘09)

Natasha Barone (JD ‘10)

Scott Bayzle (‘00, JD ‘05)

Arthur “Art“ Bookout (JD ‘09)

William “Patrick”“ Burchette (JD ‘07)

John Byron (JD ‘11)

Angie Cecil (‘00, JD ‘08)

Jessica “Jessie“ Cohan (JD ‘06), Vice-Chair

Erin Comerford (JD ‘08)

Clara Cottrell (JD ‘07)

Katherine “Katie“ Boening Cumbus (JD ‘06)

William “Will“ Dickinson (‘07, JD ‘10)

Catayah “Angelia”“ Duncan (JD ‘10)

Kathryn McDaniel Eyster (JD ‘03)

Heather (Williams) Forshey (JD ‘06)

John Russell Gardner (JD ‘04)

Amy (Holbrook) Wooten (‘06, JD ‘09)

Alexander “Alex“  Ingle (JD ‘13)

Christopher “Chris“ Jackson (JD’11)

Garrett  Johnson (‘07, JD ‘10)

Patrick “Pat“ Kane (JD ‘07)

Erika Karnaszewski (JD ‘07)

Meredith (Jones) Kingsley (JD ‘09)

Leslie Wagner Kostyshak (JD ‘09)

Jonathan “Jon“ Kreider (JD ‘08)

Marc Langston (JD ‘11)

Gerald “Jerry“ Liska (JD ‘07)

Caroline (Payseur) Mackie (JD ‘10)

Kelsey Hendry Mayo (JD ‘08)

Thomas. “Richmond“ McPherson (JD ‘10), Chair

Francisco “Cisco“ Morales (JD ‘11)

Eleanor Rhoades Morales (JD ‘10)

Lisa Peterson (JD ‘13)

Whitney “Whit“ Pierce (JD ‘11)

Meredith Anne Pinson (‘06, JD ‘09)

Amy Puckett (JD ‘11)

Kristin (Becker) Racine (JD ‘09)

Allison Leigh Richmond (JD ‘11)

Davis Franklin Roach (‘09, JD ‘12)

Bradley “Brad“ Roehrenbeck (‘01, JD ‘05)

Phillip Ross (JD ‘12)

Greer (Benge) Taylor (JD ‘12)

Ruth Tisdale (JD ‘14)

Jose David Vega (JD ‘07)

Whitney Wallace (JD ‘08)

Jeffrey “Jeff“ Wolfe (JD ‘08)

Advisory Emeritus members:

Tadelro “T.L.”“ Brown (’99, JD’03, MBA ’08)

Richard “Rich“ Dietz  (JD’02)

Acknowledge the following members who have completed their terms:

Kristin Garris (JD’08)

Justin Nifong (JD’07)

Alicia Peoples (JD’06)

Amanda T. Johnson (JD’11)

Alexandria Reyes (’06 JD’09)

Whitney Wallace (JD’08)

Alicia Luchetti (JD’11)

Stephanie Fulcher (JD’05)