Dean Emeritus and Professor Bob Walsh receives Sherman Christensen Award from American Inns of Court for outstanding leadership

Photo of Professor Robert K. Walsh

Bob Walsh, who was the dean of the Wake Forest University School of Law from 1989 to 2007, is widely recognized as one of the leaders in legal education in the United States. Besides directing the rise of the law school into national prominence, Bob has been the chairperson of the ABA Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar.

Dean Emeritus and Professor Bob Walsh has been selected as this year’s recipient of the A. Sherman Christensen Award, given by the American Inns of Court in recognition of outstanding service and exceptional leadership.

“I was privileged to nominate Bob,” says Tom Comerford Jr. (JD ’74) of Comerford & Britt LLP. “This is quite an honor for Bob and for the Joseph Branch Inn of Court.  Please join me in congratulating Bob for this great achievement.”

Walsh received more than 20 letters of support for his nomination from distinguished attorneys and judges, among them Supreme Court Justices from England and Ireland. He was featured on Aug. 10 in the Triad Business Journal.

The A. Sherman Christensen Award is bestowed upon a member of an American Inn of Court, who at the local, state or national level has provided distinguished and significant leadership to the American Inns of Court movement. The recipient should exemplify the qualities of leadership and commitment displayed by Judge A. Sherman Christensen.

“Dean Emeritus Bob Walsh certainly fulfills these requirements,” says Cindy Dennis, awards and scholarships coordinator for the American Inns of Court. “By honoring distinguished American Inns of Court members, the award helps foster interest in the activities and goals of the American Inns of Court movement throughout the legal community.”

The award will be presented at the American Inns of Court Celebration of Excellence Dinner, hosted by Justice Elena Kagan, in October at the Supreme Court of the United States. The award is funded by an endowment established by LexisNexis.

Walsh, who served as Wake Forest Law dean from 1989-2007, is widely recognized as one of the leaders in legal education in the United States. Besides directing the rise of the law school into national prominence, he recently served as the president of the American Inns of Court Foundation Board of Trustees, being the second non-judge president of the organization in its 30-year history.

Walsh was also recently elected as an Honorary Academic Bencher of the Honorable Society of Inner Temple. The Inner Temple is one of the four Inns of Court in London. Benchers are senior respected judges and practicing barristers of high achievement and constitute the governing body for each Inn. Dean Walsh is only one of three Benchers in the United States and the first Academic Bencher outside of the United Kingdom. The other two Benchers are U.S. Supreme Court Justices Anthony Kennedy and Stephen Breyer.

“Congratulations on this richly deserved award,” writes Patrick Maddams, Sub-Treasurer of the Honourable Society of the Inner Temple, from London.

In 2010, the American Bar Association (ABA) gave its national award, the Robert J. Kutak Award, to Walsh as the person who “meets the highest standard of professional responsibility and demonstrates substantial achievement towards increased understanding between legal education and the active practice of law.” Past winners of the Kutak Award have been practicing lawyers, academics and judges, including U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor in 2006.

Prior to becoming dean at Wake Forest Law, Walsh was a litigation partner with a law firm in Little Rock, Arkansas, dean of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law, a law professor at Villanova University, and an associate with a law firm in Los Angeles.