Professor Timothy Davis receives AALS 2018 Section on Law and Sports Award

Photo of Professor Tim Davis

Professor Tim Davis is one the country’s best known sports law scholars.

Wake Forest School of Law Professor Timothy Davis is among the recipients of the Association of American Law Schools (AALS) 2018 section awards for excellence in legal education.

Professor Davis is the winner of the AALS Section on Law and Sports Award, which recognizes an individual who has made a substantial and significant contribution to scholarship, teaching, and/or service in the area of law relating to sports.

Professor Davis is a leading sports law scholar who has published extensively and presented frequently. He has authorized or co-authored several books and numerous law review articles. He is well respected for his sports law scholarship, particularly regarding contract and race issues, which has contributed significantly to the developing body of sports law. He has won faculty teaching awards more than once at both Southern Methodist University School of Law and Wake Forest School of Law. He has served in leadership roles in numerous sports law organizations. He is a former chair of the AALS Section on Law and Sports. He is currently a member of the Review Board of the United States Anti-Doping Agency and serves on the Board of Advisors of the National Sports Law Institute.The awards are hosted by several sections of the association which are organized around various academic disciplines and topics of interest.

The 2018 winners will be acknowledged during section programming at the 2018 AALS Annual Meeting, Jan. 3-6, in San Diego.

“Sections are a vibrant part of our association and serve as a forum for legal educators to connect, collaborate, support one another, and celebrate each other’s accomplishments,” said AALS President Paul Marcus, Haynes Professor of Law, William & Mary Law School, in a press release. “We are pleased to announce these honorees from our sections.”

In addition to Professor Davis winning the Section on Law and Sports Award, the 2018 AALS section award winners are:

Section on Academic Support Award

Linda Feldman, Brooklyn Law School

Section on Animal Law Award

Joan E. Schaffner, The George Washington University Law School

Section on Business Associations Outstanding Mentor Award

Afra Afsharipour, University of California, Davis, School of Law

James D. Cox, Duke University Law School

Lisa M. Fairfax, George Washington University Law School

Jill Fisch, University of Pennsylvania Law School

Lyman P.Q. Johnson, Washington & Lee School of Law

Joan MacLeod Heminway, University of Tennessee College of Law

Brett McDonnell, University of Minnesota Law School

David Millon, Washington & Lee School of Law

Donna M. Nagy, Indiana University Maurer School of Law

Frank Partnoy, University of San Diego School of Law

Randall S. Thomas, Vanderbilt University School of Law

Robert B. Thompson, Georgetown University Law Center

Section on Clinical Legal Education William Pincus Award

Carol Izumi, University of California, Hastings College of the Law 

Section on Criminal Justice Junior Scholar Award

John Rappaport, The University of Chicago Law School

Section on Evidence Award

Roger Park, University of California, Hastings College of the Law

 Section on Federal Courts Best Article Award

Henry Monaghan, Columbia Law School

David L. Shapiro, Harvard Law School

Section on Law and Religion Award for Excellence in Scholarship

Christopher Lund, Wayne State University Law School 

Section on Law Libraries and Legal Information Award

Richard A. Danner, Duke University School of Law

Section on Law, Medicine and Health Care Award

Charity Scott, Georgia State University College of Law

Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning and Research Award

Darby Dickerson, The John Marshall Law School

Section on Minority Groups Clyde Ferguson Award

Dorothy A. Brown, Emory University School of Law

Guy-Uriel Charles, Duke University School of Law

Section on Minority Groups Derrick A. Bell Jr. Award

Stacy Hawkins, Rutgers University School of Law

Section on Pro-Bono & Public Service Opportunities Deborah L. Rhode Award

Angela Drake, University of Missouri School of Law

Section on Pro-Bono & Public Service Opportunities Father Robert Drinan Award

Thomas Schoenherr, Fordham University School of Law

 Section on Professional Responsibility Fred C. Zacharias Memorial Prize

Robert W. Gordon, Stanford Law School

 Section on Torts and Compensation Systems William L. Prosser Award

Marshall S. Shapo, Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

Section on Women in Legal Education Ruth Bader Ginsburg Lifetime Achievement Award

Tamar Frankel, Boston University School of Law

The AALS, founded in 1900, is a nonprofit association of 179 law schools. Its members enroll most of the nation’s law students and produce the majority of the country’s lawyers and judges, as well as many of its lawmakers. The mission of AALS is to uphold and advance excellence in legal education. In support of this mission, AALS promotes the core values of excellence in teaching and scholarship, academic freedom, and diversity, including diversity of backgrounds and viewpoints, while seeking to improve the legal profession, to foster justice, and to serve our many communities–local, national and international.