Kyle Huggins (JD ’19) of Raleigh, North Carolina, wins 2018 Zeliff Trial Bar Competition

Photo of Samantha Shaffer (JD ’20) and Kyle Huggins (JD '19) posing in Worrell Professional Center's Room 1312

Samantha Shaffer (JD ’20) and Kyle Huggins (JD '19)

Kyle Huggins (JD ’19), a native of Raleigh, North Carolina, is the winner of the 2018 Zeliff Trial Bar Competition. Huggins received an honorable mention in the 2017 competition.

The final argument in the Michael Scott v. Worrell Pit Bulls Hockey Club case, sponsored by the Wake Forest Student Trial Bar, was held at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 28, in the Worrell Professional Center.

In the final round of the competition, Huggins represented the defendant, the Worrell Pit Bulls Hockey Club, while Samantha Shaffer (JD ’20) of Buffalo, New York, represented the plaintiff, Michael Scott.

The statement of the case was Plaintiff Michael Scott, a hockey player, who was injured in a game on Sept. 4, 2016. After this injury, Scott was examined by Defendant’s athletic trainer, Dwight Schrute. Scott returned to play in the game, and continued to play in the next game on Sept. 10, 2016. At this game, Scott was hit again, and lost consciousness. At the hospital, Scott was diagnosed with a severe concussion. Scott alleges Schrute was negligent in allowing him to continue to play after sustaining the original injury.

The Honorable Thomas Schroeder, Chief United States District Judge of the Middle District of North Carolina, presided.

The final four contestants included Mark Huffman (JD ’18) and Kevin Olsen (JD ’19).

The elite eight finalists of the competition included Taylor Currin (JD ’19), Yuqi Wei  (JD ’20), Evan Reid (JD ’19) and Kyle Mirabelli (JD ’18). Honorable mentions went to Marsha Ambroise (JD ’19) and Emily Cline (JD ’19).

Zeliff Co-Chairs are Charlotte Loper (JD ’19), Adam McCoy (JD ’19) and Mattie Gibbons (JD ’19).

“Both competitors did an incredible job of representing the law school and received high praise from Judge Schroeder,” the co-chairs wrote in an email announcing the competition. ”Thank you to all the participants and everyone who helped make this competition a success!”