Winners of 2019 Transactional Law Competition announced

students talking in competition

(Winston-Salem, N.C., Oct. 28, 2019) — The Wake Forest Transactional Law Board named Caitlin Becker (JD ’21), Ryan Madden (JD ’21), and Olivia Rojas (JD ’21) overall team champions of the 2019 Transactional Law Competition.

The Wake Forest School of Law Transactional Law Competition is a student-run competition, using a simulated business transaction in which student teams represent two sides of a corporate agreement. The competition allows participants to learn and practice the skills of contract analysis, drafting, and negotiation. For the 2019 Transactional Law Competition, students represented either a beverage distributor or a cider brewery in reaching a distribution agreement.

Award winners from the competition include:

Overall Team Champions

Caitlin Becker (JD ’21)

Ryan Madden (JD ’21)

Olivia Rojas (JD ’21)

Best 1L Overall Team

Jonathan Carter (JD ’22)

Anabelle Copeland (JD ’22)

Charlie Ellis (JD ’22)

Best Team Negotiators

Jaren Butts (JD ’21)

Corinne Spencer (JD ’21)

Manning Peeler (JD ’21)

Best Team Mark-Up

Makenzie Taylor (JD ’22)

Rachel Golden (JD ’22)

Sam Beckworth (JD ’22)

Best Team Draft

Caitlin Becker (JD ’21)

Ryan Madden (JD ’21)

Olivia Rojas (JD ’21)

As a part of the competition, the teams had the opportunity to draft their own distribution agreements, mark-up another team’s draft, and negotiate aspects of the agreement with another team. This year’s problem was designed by members of the Transactional Law Competition Board, which consisted of Chairperson Samantha Moench (JD ’20), Vice Chairperson Kate Kacsur (JD ’20), Problem Chairperson Thomas Cain (JD ’20), 2L Board Member Olivia Bane (JD ’21), 2L Board Member Golzar Yazdanshenas (JD ’21), and 2L Board Member Alex Hill (BA ’18, JD’21).

Judges scoring the rounds represented many different firms across the N.C. including:

Womble Bond Dickinson

Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton

Pittman & Steele

Poyner Spruill

Purrington Moody Weil

Payne & Associates

Ogletree Deakins

Duke Energy

Mayer Brown

Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner

Affinity Living Group

Highwoods Properties

Law Offices of Anne Keays

Waldrep Law

K&L Gates

The final negotiation round was held in the Law Commons of the Worrell Professional Center on Saturday, October 26, 2019. The negotiation round was followed by a reception for judges and participants.

Photos of the 2019 Transactional Law Competition will be posted in the near future.


About Wake Forest University School of Law:

Wake Forest School of Law has committed to keeping legal education small and personable. Established in 1894, the law school has cultivated a rich and distinctive identity in legal education rooted in community, service, and the belief that these combined values are the foundation for law professionals. Located in Winston- Salem, N.C., Wake Forest law school offers these degrees: the Juris Doctor (JD) with dual and concurrent degree options, a Master of Laws (LL.M.), the Doctor of Juridical Science (SJD), and an online Master of Studies in Law (MSL). Learn more about Wake Forest School of Law at