Site Navigation Page Content


Wake Forest Law to host a ‘Conversation With’ Gene Boyce (’56) on Wednesday, April 8

Wake Forest Law will host G. Eugene “Gene” Boyce (’56) as part of its “Conversation With” series at noon on Wednesday, April 8, in the Worrell Professional Center, Room 1312. Continue reading »

NCBA Executive Director Allan Head (’66,JD ’69) honored with Iredell Award

Allan Head (’66, JD ’69), executive director of the North Carolina Bar Association (NCBA), was presented the James Iredell Award on Wednesday, March 18, by Campbell Law School’s Phi Alpha Delta (PAD) law fraternity. Continue reading »

Student Trial Advocacy team named American Association of Justice (AAJ) Student Trial Advocacy Regional Champions

Wake Forest Law fielded two teams in the American Association of Justice (AAJ) Student Trial Advocacy Regional Competition (STAC) held in Raleigh, N.C.,  over the weekend of March 20, 2015.  The second team representing Wake Forest, led by team captain Josh Adam (’15) and teammates Daniel Galyon (’16), McKinney Brown (’15), and Zabrina Delgado (’16), was named AAJ Regional Champion and will advance to the final rounds.
Nathan Harrill (’14), Bethany Corbin (’14), and Justin Jenkins (’14)

Bethany Corbin (’14) to present at Pan-European Conference on International Relations in September in Sicily, Italy

Bethany Corbin (’14) will present her paper, “Love Is A Battlefield: Honor Killing as a Construction of Gendered and Geographic Violence in Europe and the Middle East,” at the ninth Pan-European Conference on International Relations on Sept. 23-26, 2015, in Sicily, Italy. The theme of the Pan-European Conference is “The Worlds of Violence.”

Jo Ellen ‘Jodie’ Jordan (JD/MBA ’97), discusses education, career with CBS Baltimore

Jo Ellan ‘Jodie’ Jordan is a transactional attorney with the Baltimore law firm of Fedder and Garten, whose practice focuses on corporate transactions, real estate transactions, leasing and employment law matters. In a recent interview with CBS Baltimore, she talked about what inspired her to become an attorney and offered advice for others considering going into law. Read the original interview here. Continue reading »

OUTLaw Logo New

Christopher Barron (’00) is keynote speaker for first OUTLaw fundraising banquet on Thursday, April 16, 2015

OUTLaw, the organization for gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, questioning and allied law students at Wake Forest Law, is holding its inaugural Advocacy and Awareness Dinner on Thursday, April 16, 2015 at The Millennium Center in downtown Winston-Salem as a fundraising event for the group.

Continue reading »

National Trial Team competes in 40th annual Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) Competition

The Wake Forest Law National Trial team competed in the 40th annual Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) Competition in Houston, Texas, on March 11-15, 2015. After facing the University of California Berkley and the University of Wisconsin in the first two rounds, the third rounds were power-ranked and Wake Forest fell to a strong Cumberland School of Law team. Continue reading »

Fred Williams ('38, '40)

A celebration of the life of Fred Williams (’38, ‘JD ’40) planned for Friday, March 20

Longtime Wake Forest Law supporter and life member of the law school’s Board of Visitors Fred Williams Sr. (BS ’38, JD ’40) died on March 16, 2015, in Greensboro. A celebration of his life is planned for 11 a.m. on Friday, March 20, at First Baptist Church, Greensboro. The family will visit with friends in the church atrium following service. The family will also visit with friends 4-6 p.m. on Friday at Well Spring in Greensboro. Continue reading »
Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg meets with Wake Forest Law alumni following their SCOTUS swearing-in ceremony on March 9.

U.S. Supreme Court bar swearing-in ceremony a family affair for alumni

It is silent, save for the tick tock of the clock that hangs above the imposing bench and the shuffling feet of visitors as they are led into the courtroom. Marble columns and thick, red velvet curtains line the room that is surprisingly small considering the enormity of the decisions that are rendered here. Continue reading »

Federal Tax expert and Law Professor Brant Hellwig (’94, ’97)

Federal Tax expert and Law Professor Brant Hellwig (’94, ’97) named dean of Washington and Lee University School of Law

Washington and Lee University President Kenneth P. Ruscio has announced the appointment of Brant Hellwig, professor of law at Washington and Lee University and an expert in the field of federal taxation, as dean of the W&L School of Law, effective July 1, 2015, according to a university press release.

Continue reading »